LibGuides: Research Library Finding Aids: Directory Coverage

Directory Coverage

The following tabs are an inventory of the many different types of directories that are available in print, microfilm/fiche, or digital form. Typically, directories are organized by city, but sometimes they are also organized by counties or geographic areas. Business directories and telephone directories (such as Yellow and White pages) are listed separately as they offer slightly different information than traditional city directories.

Please remember: cities and towns are often grouped with larger neighboring cities. If you cannot find the city you are looking for, use the Which City is Where - City Directories or Which City is Where - Telephone Directories finding aids or contact us with your questions.

City Directories

Arizona City	Print	Microfilm/fiche	Digital (Arizona Memory Project)
Ajo	1960		1960
Bisbee	1914, 1916-1918, 1924-1931, 1938, 1940, 1942, 1946/47, 1951/52, 1955/56	1914-1927, 1940-1959	1914/15, 1916/17, 1917/18, 1924/25, 1926/27, 1928/29, 1930/31, 1938, 1940, 1942, 1946/47, 1951/52, 1955, 1959
Casa Grande	1960, 1965, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1973, 1976, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1997-2000		1960
Chandler	1982
Dolan Springs		1915-1929
Douglas	1919-1921, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1930, 1935, 1938, 1940, 1942, 1948/49, 1950, 1959, 1961, 1965, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1981		1919, 1920, 1921, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1930, 1935, 1938, 1940, 1942, 1948, 1959
Farmington (New Mexico)	2020, 2021
Flagstaff	1929, 1948/49, 1950, 1955, 1958, 1959-1961, 1963, 1965, 1967, 1970-1973, 1975-1977, 1979, 1980-1990, 1995-2002, 2004, 2006, 2020-2023		1929, 1948-49, 1950, 1955, 1959, 1961
Glendale	1949/50, 1954, 1957-1959, 1961, 1963 1964-1969, 2003, 2021		1949/50, 1954, 1957, 1959, 1961, 1963
Globe	1905/06, 1913/14, 1916-1921, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1930, 1940, 1952, 1960, 1965, 1970, 1973, 1977		1905/06, 1913/14, 1916/17, 1918/19, 1920, 1921, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1930, 1940, 1940 Supplement, 1952, 1960
Kingman	1937, 1961, 1965, 1968, 1970, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1979, 1981		1937, 1961, 1965
Mesa	1940, 1946-1949, 1952, 1955, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1963-1968, 1970, 1976-1979, 1981-1983, 1989-1992, 2003, 2021-2023		1940, 1940 Supplement, 1946/47, 1952, 1952 Supplement, 1955, 1958, 1960, 1963
Phoenix	1892, 1895, 1897-1899, 1903, 1905, 1906, 1908-1921, 1923, 1925, 1928-1953, 1955-1972, 1974-2023	1916, 1923, 1928-1929	1903, 1905/06, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1914, 1915, 1915/16, 1916, 1917, 1918, 1919, 1921, 1923, 1925, 1925, 1926, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1930, 1931, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1934, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1939, 1940, 1940, 1941, 1941, 1942, 1942, 1943, 1944, 1945, 1946, 1946/47, 1947/48, 1948, 1948/49, 1949, 1949/50, 1950, 1950 Supplement, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1955, 1955 Supplement, 1956, 1956 Supplement, 1957, 1957 Supplement, 1958, 1958 Supplement, 1958/59, 1959, 1959 Supplement, 1960, 1960 Supplement, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1963 Supplement Indicates a secondary directory for the same year by a different publisher
Prescott	1937, 1939, 1941, 1948, 1953-1954, 1960, 1961, 1963, 1965, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1974-1977, 1980-1990		1937, 1939, 1948, 1953/54, 1961, 1963
Safford	1950, 1958, 1961, 1964, 1966, 1970, 1973, 1976, 1977, 1981, 1988, 1990, 1993, 1995, 1998, 1999		1950, 1958, 1961
Scottsdale	1956, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1963-1970, 1976, 2021-2023		1940, 1940 Supplement, 1949/50, 1961, 1963
Sierra Vista	1981
Tempe	2000
Tombstone	1880-1884
Tucson	1881, 1883/84, 1901-1904, 1906/07, 1917, 1921, 1928, 1933-1942, 1944, 1946, 1948-1955, 1957-1960, 1962-1992, 1995-2002, 2004-2023	1899-1935, 1954-1959, 1962, 1976, 1979, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991	1881, 1883/84, 1901, 1902, 1906/07, 1917, 1921, 1922, 1928, 1933, 1934, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1942, 1944, 1946, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1962, 1962, 1964 Indicates a secondary directory for the same year by a different publisher
Wickenburg	1962		1962
Winslow	1949/50, 1960, 1965, 1970, 1974		1949/50, 1960
Yuma	1947-1991, 1996-1999, 2001, 2004, 2006, 2020-2023		1948, 1949, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963

County and Area Directories

County or Area	Notes	Print or Microfilm/fiche	Digital (Arizona Memory Project)
Cochise County		1954	1954
Johnson's East	East side of Salt River Valley	1972
Johnson's West	West side of Salt River Valley	1972
Maricopa County		1957, 1961 *Farm and Ranch Directory	1957, 1961 *Farm and Ranch Directory
Mohave County		1996, 1998-2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014-2016, 2020-2021
Navajo County		1930/31	1930/31
Navajo and Hopi Directory			1941
Northern Cochise County		1954	1954
Pima County			1903/04
Polk's Southeast Area	Southeast area of Arizona	1997
Southern Utah & Vicinity		2020-2021
Yavapai County		1913, 1916, 1919, 1922	1913, 1916, 1919, 1922
Yuma County		1997-1999

Business and Telephone Directories by City

City	Print	Microfilm/fiche	Digital (Arizona Memory Project)
Ajo	2012	1940-1999
Ash Fork		1951-1956
Benson		1930-1968
Bisbee		1930-1956
Blythe (California)	1975, 1977-1986, 1991-1998
Buckeye	1974, 1977-1980	1930-1992
Bullhead City		1988-1993
Camp Verde		1958-1964
Casa Grande	2012	1930-2005
Clifton	1988-1993, 2011	1930-2005
Copper Hill		1930-1952
Douglas		1930-1957
Dudleyville		1985-1995
Duncan		1952
Elfrida		1959
Flagstaff	1999, 2009-2011, 2020	1931-2005
Gallup (New Mexico)	1964, 1968-1979, 1984-1986, 1988/89	1990-2005
Gila Bend		1959
Glendale		1964-1972, 1990
Globe		1930-2001, 2004, 2005
Hayden		1959-1987
Holbrook		1941-1986
Jerome		1930-1957
Joseph City		1955
Keams Canyon	1988-1990, 1996, 1998	1981-1987
Kingman		1948-1967
Lake Havasu City	2014
Mammoth		1956-1958
Marana		1956-1961
Mesa		1962-1978, 1981-1992
Nogales	2011	1930-2005
Paradise Valley (North)		1990-1992
Parker		1956-1984
Payson		1961-2005
Phoenix	1917, 1921, 1927-1930, 1933-1936, 1944-1946, 1951, 1959-1975, 1977-1991, 1993/94, 1982-1983, 2000-2001, 2003-2016-2018, 2020, 2022 Directories available in Spanish: 1988, 1990-1992, 2009, 2010	1916-2005	Summer 1927, Winter 1927-28, Winter 1928-29, Summer 1929, Winter 1929, Spring 1930, Summer 1930, 1934-35, 1936, 1944, 1946, 1951, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963
Prescott	2012	1930-2005
Quartzite		1973
Safford		1949
Scottsdale	1964-1969, 1974, 2005/06, 2012-2016, 2018	1964-1990
Seligman		1956
Superior		1930
Tucson	1956, 1981-1986, 1988-1991, 2010-2012, 2015	1919, 1976-2005
White Mountain	2010-2012
Wickenburg		1930-2005
Wilcox		1930-1956
Williams		1943-1956
Window Rock	1988-1991, 1997-1998, 2003	1981-1987
Winkelman		1953-1957
Winslow	1969, 1990/91, 2012	1943-2005
Yuma	2012	1926-2005

Business and Telephone Directories by County/Area/Other

County/Area	Notes	Print	Microfilm/fiche
Arizona	Select cities throughout the state	1988-1993, 1997, 2014-2015, 2017, 2018	1906
Arizona's Black Pages		2002, 2004
Arizona Women in Business	Phoenix metro area	1992-1993, 1998
Black Commerce Directory		1990, 1992/93
Call Guide Buckeye and Harquahala Valley		1974, 1977-1980
Call Guide Mesa-Tempe-Chandler		1974, 1979
Call Guide West	West Phoenix metro area	1974
Cochise County		2012	1969-2005
Consolidated Telephone Telegraph & Electric	Southern & Central Arizona	1906
East Valley	East Salt River Valley	2012-2015
East Valley Mesa	East Salt River Valley	1993-2004
Fronteer Blythe Quartzsite	East Arizona	1975, 1977-1986, 1991-1998
Greater Northwest Valley	Northwest Salt River Valley	1993-2005
Greater Southwest Valley	Southwest Salt River Valley	1993-2005
Greater Southwest Valley/South Central Phoenix		2004/05, 2009, 2012
Indian Yellow Pages		2005/06
Jewish News of Greater Phoenix Community Directory		1996, 2003, 2007-2008, 2010-2011, 2014-2017, 2020
Mohave County			1968-1988, 1993, 1995-2005
National Center Directory of American Indian-Owned Businesses	National, includes Arizona	1998
North Area	North Salt River Valley		1985, 1986
Southern Utah	Includes cities that border Southern Utah	1973-1974, 1977, 1979-1981, 1983, 1985	1990-2005
Tucson Jewish Community Directory		1985
Valle del Este	East Salt River Valley; in Spanish	2005
Valle del Sol	Phoenix metro area; in Spanish	2009
Valley of the Sun	Phoenix metro area	2007, 2009

Research Library Finding Aids

Directory Coverage

City Directories

Arizona City

Print

Microfilm/fiche

Digital (Arizona Memory Project)

Ajo

1960

Bisbee

1914, 1916-1918, 1924-1931, 1938, 1940, 1942, 1946/47, 1951/52, 1955/56

1914-1927, 1940-1959

1914/15, 1916/17, 1917/18, 1924/25, 1926/27, 1928/29, 1930/31, 1938, 1940, 1942, 1946/47, 1951/52, 1955, 1959

Casa Grande

1960, 1965, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1973, 1976, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1997-2000

Chandler

1982

Douglas

1919-1921, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1930, 1935, 1938, 1940, 1942, 1948/49, 1950, 1959, 1961, 1965, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1981

1919, 1920, 1921, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1930, 1935, 1938, 1940, 1942, 1948, 1959

Flagstaff

1929, 1948/49, 1950, 1955, 1958, 1959-1961, 1963, 1965, 1967, 1970-1973, 1975-1977, 1979, 1980-1990, 1995-2002, 2004, 2006, 2020-2023

1929, 1948-49, 1950, 1955, 1959, 1961

Glendale

1949/50, 1954, 1957-1959, 1961, 1963 1964-1969, 2003, 2021

1949/50, 1954, 1957, 1959, 1961, 1963

Globe

1905/06, 1913/14, 1916-1921, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1930, 1940, 1952, 1960, 1965, 1970, 1973, 1977

1905/06, 1913/14, 1916/17, 1918/19, 1920, 1921, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1930, 1940, 1940 Supplement, 1952, 1960

Kingman

1937, 1961, 1965, 1968, 1970, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1979, 1981

1937, 1961, 1965

Mesa

1940, 1946-1949, 1952, 1955, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1963-1968, 1970, 1976-1979, 1981-1983, 1989-1992, 2003, 2021-2023

1940, 1940 Supplement, 1946/47, 1952, 1952 Supplement, 1955, 1958, 1960, 1963

Phoenix

1892, 1895, 1897-1899, 1903, 1905, 1906, 1908-1921, 1923, 1925, 1928-1953, 1955-1972, 1974-2023

1916, 1923, 1928-1929

Prescott

1937, 1939, 1941, 1948, 1953-1954, 1960, 1961, 1963, 1965, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1974-1977, 1980-1990

1937, 1939, 1948, 1953/54, 1961, 1963

Safford

1950, 1958, 1961, 1964, 1966, 1970, 1973, 1976, 1977, 1981, 1988, 1990, 1993, 1995, 1998, 1999

1950, 1958, 1961

Scottsdale

1956, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1963-1970, 1976, 2021-2023

1940, 1940 Supplement, 1949/50, 1961, 1963

Sierra Vista

1981

Tempe

2000

Tombstone

1880-1884

Tucson

1881, 1883/84, 1901-1904, 1906/07, 1917, 1921, 1928, 1933-1942, 1944, 1946, 1948-1955, 1957-1960, 1962-1992, 1995-2002, 2004-2023

1899-1935, 1954-1959, 1962, 1976, 1979, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991

1881, 1883/84, 1901, 1902, 1906/07, 1917, 1921, 1922, 1928, 1933, 1934, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1942, 1944, 1946, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1962, 1962*, 1964

Wickenburg

1962

Winslow

1949/50, 1960, 1965, 1970, 1974

1949/50, 1960

Yuma

1947-1991, 1996-1999, 2001, 2004, 2006, 2020-2023

1948, 1949, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963

County and Area Directories

County or Area

Notes

Print or Microfilm/fiche

Digital (Arizona Memory Project)

Cochise County

1954

Johnson's East

East side of Salt River Valley

1972

Johnson's West

West side of Salt River Valley

1972

Maricopa County

1957*, 1961* *Farm and Ranch Directory

1957, 1961
*Farm and Ranch Directory

1957, 1961
*Farm and Ranch Directory