Skip to Main Content 
City and Telephone Directories
The Arizona Collection houses a collection of county and city directories, as well as business and telephone directories, dating from the Territorial Era to the present.
County and city directories list addresses and phone numbers for individuals and businesses in a geographic area. These directories allow you to look up phone numbers, persons, businesses, or addresses. They also provide historical information, geographic boundaries, listings of social services, religious institutions, local cemeteries, advertisements for businesses, and more.
Business and telephone directories are structured slightly differently and may only provide minimal information about an area. However, they do list addresses and phone numbers as well.
Directories are published annually and are organized by county or city. Use the Directory Coverage page to see which city, county, business, and telephone directories are available. Often, smaller towns and cities are grouped with larger cities that are geographically close. Some cities or towns may also be included in different directories over time to reflect municipal, county, or population changes. To find out which directory to consult, use the Which City is Where - City Directories or Which City is Where - Telephone Directories finding aids.
Directories are available in three formats: microfilm/microfiche, print, and digital. Digitized city directories are available on the Arizona Memory Project and are organized by collection. The Places We Lived: City Directories of Arizona collection houses city directories from the Arizona Collection. The Arizona Memory Project also houses collections from partner institutions. Click here to view them. To view city directories that have not been digitized, patrons must make an appointment to visit our Reading Room (Monday-Friday 8:30AM-12:00PM or 1:00PM-4:30PM, excluding holidays). Click here to make an appointment or to get in touch with us.
