The entries in our Arizona Biographical Database refer to persons in our collection of books, newspaper articles, periodicals, obituaries and vertical files.
Note: This database is not being actively updated. This database does not a complete listing of the names of people who appear in our records nor does this list include all of the records in which an individual may appear.
Arizona Legislators: Then & Now is a work-in-progress database which includes information about those who were elected or appointed to the Arizona State Legislature in the 100 years since Statehood. It includes sessions served and, when found in the Journals, Legislative offices held, as well as the Legislative death resolution, when available, for deceased members. Every attempt was made to transcribe data accurately but errors are possible. If you have additional information or corrections please contact us.
Note: This is a retrospective database, if you need information about a member of the current Arizona State Legislature, please visit the Member Roster.
The Arizona Collection houses both subject and biographical vertical files.
Subject vertical files contain a wide spectrum of subjects related to Arizona culture and history. Biographical vertical files contain information about legislators and Arizonans of note. Curation of this collection has continued since its creation in the 1930s.
Vertical files may contain newspaper clippings, short articles, and other possibly unique ephemera. They are useful for those just beginning their research and those trying to enhance their research.
Click here to view a full list of biographical vertical files.
Click here to view a full list of subject vertical files.