Brand books were published by different state agencies over the years: Live Stock Sanitary Board of Arizona, Arizona Livestock Board, and Arizona Department of Agriculture. They contain the brands and marks on cattle, horses, sheep, hogs, and more.
Brand books from 1898-2020 have been digitized and can be found on the Arizona Memory Project by clicking here.
The Research Library and the Archives hold slightly different Brand Book records. You can find more information about the Archives Brand Book holdings at this link.
For brand information prior to 1897, check with the county recorder's office.
Your ancestor may have worked for a state agency or held an occupation regulated by a state agency. You can find annual reports, rosters, and membership directories in our State Documents collection. These publications might include your ancestor's name, licensing information, and more. Here are the recommended steps:
1. Visit our AZDocs classification listing to determine the agency code of interest. Take note of the years covered by the agency code.
2. View our Research Library catalog and enter the agency code followed by 1.1 in order to view our holdings of their annual reports (see example below, input as HEA 1.1). Some agencies listed their licensees in their annual reports, or might mention the names of certain employees.
3. View our Research Library catalog and enter the agency code followed by 1.8 in order to view our holdings of their rosters and membership directories (see example below, input as HEB 1.8).
4. If you are not sure about which state agency would hold relevant information for your ancestor's occupation, you can also enter the name of an occupation followed by "--directories" in our catalog's search bar. See the example below for what a search for directories of engineers would look like, including an image from the 1922 State Board of Registration's annual report.
Here are links to select directories and rosters available on the Arizona Memory Project. In many cases, there is additional content in the collection not yet digitized. You can discover all available years in our Research Library Catalog and request an appointment to view materials in our Reading Room.
Roster of licensed real estate brokers and salesmen
Directory of nurses registered in Arizona
Directory of Arizona State University (Faculty, Staff, Students)
Directory of Arizona contractors
State Bar of Arizona Members Directory
State Board of Accountancy Roster
Arizona State Medical Directory
Active Officers of the Arizona National Guard