LibGuides: Arizona Genealogy Resources: Federal Documents

Intro to Federal Documents

The United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) is one of the largest publishers in the world. GPO has been keeping a record about its people for two centuries, so federal publications are a valuable resource for genealogy research. Federal publications can be specifically useful for research if an ancestor:
   •   Was involved in the military
   •   Dealt with the government
   •   Was a government official
   •   Settled in a frontier area
   •   Suffered in a disaster
   •   Was an immigrant
   •   Attended a government institution
   •   Was a Native American
   •   Was a member of a minority or oppressed group
   •   Was involved in banking, transportation, or commerce

For publications listed without hyperlinks, please contact the Research Library for an appointment to review the print publications.

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) has a LibGuide highlighting different U.S. Government resources on genealogical information, including on ancestry, military records, and where to conduct further research. Click here to view the FDLP Genealogy LibGuide.

Congressional Materials

Y 1.1/2: Serial Set: The U.S. Congressional Serial Set has military records, immigration records, land records, lists of government employees, pension records, and much more.
- http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwss.html (This collection has select Congressional Serial Set materials from 1833-1917.)
- For post-1917 volumes, our library can provide research assistance.

Y 1.1/2: SERIAL 14903: Women in Congress, 1917-2006. United States. Congress. Committee on House Administration.
- http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS81008
Y 1.1/2: Serial 14904: Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007. United States. Congress. House. Committee on House Administration.
- http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS106070

Y 1.1/7:108-225: Serial Set 14905: Hispanic Americans in Congress, 1822-2012. United States. Committee on House Administration.
- https://permanent.fdlp.gov/gpo47748/index.htm

Military Materials

N 1.34/2: 1: Combat Connected Naval Casualties World War II, By States. (1946) Department of the Navy. Office of Public Information. Casualty Section.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000809958
W 3.2: M 46/9: Decorations, United States Army 1862-1926. War Department. Office of the Adjutant General.
W 3.2: M 46/4: Medals of Honor, War Department 1904-1915. War Department.

W 3.10: 1919-1923: Army List and Directory, 1919-1923. War Department. Office of the Adjutant General.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100490113
D 1.2: B 56/991: Black Americans in Defense of Our Nation. (1991) Department of Defense. Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Civilian Personnel Policy/Equal Opportunity.

D 101.2: C 43/2: Chiefs of the Army Reserve. (2004) Department of Defense. Department of the Army. Office of Army Reserve History. David E. Hilkert.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uiug.30112055144544&view=1up&seq=3
D 114.2: G 28/775-95: Commanding Generals and Chiefs of Staff: Portraits and Biographical Sketches. (1999) Department of Defense. Department of the Army. Center of Military History. William Gardner Bell.
- https://history.army.mil/books/CG&CSA/CG-TOC.htm
D 12.2: Of 2/: General Officers of the Army and Air National Guard. Department of Defense. National Guard Bureau. Office of Public Affairs.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uc1.b5476944&view=1up&seq=1
W 3.11: 789-903/1: Historical Register and Dictionary of the United States Army, From Its Organization, September 29, 1789, to March 2, 1903: Volume 1. (1903) War Department.
W 3.11: 789-903/2: Historical Register and Dictionary of the United States Army, From Its Organization, September 29, 1789, to March 2, 1903: Volume 2. (1903) War Department.
D 12.1: 983: National Guard Bureau, Annual Review of the Chief. (1983) Department of Defense. Departments of the Army and the Air Force. National Guard Bureau.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000502451
W 70.5: 936: Official National Guard Register. (1937) War Department. National Guard Bureau.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uc1.a0004503371&view=1up&seq=9
D 208.12/2: Register of Commissioned and Warrant Officers of the United States Naval Reserve. Department of Defense. Department of the Navy. Bureau of Naval Personnel.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000520762
N 1.10: Register of Commissioned and Warrant Officers of the United States Navy and Marine Corps. Department of the Navy. Bureau of Navigation.
D 208.12: Register of Commissioned and Warrant Officers of the United States Navy and Marine Corps and Reserve Officers on Active Duty. Department of Defense. Department of the Navy. Bureau of Naval Personnel.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/101712684
TD 5.19: Register of Officers. Department of Transportation. U.S. Coast Guard.
D 208.12/3: Register of Retired Commissioned and Warrant Officers, Regular and Reserve, of the United States Navy and Marine Corps. Department of Defense. Department of the Navy. Bureau of Naval Personnel.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000635782
T 47.10: Register of the Commissioned and Warrant Officers and Cadets of the United States Coast Guard in the Order of Precedence. Department of the Treasury. U.S. Coast Guard.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100113113
D 114.2: Se 2/992: Secretaries of War and Secretaries of the Army: Portraits and Biographical Sketches. (1992) Department of Defense. Department of the Army. Center of Military History. William Gardner Bell.
- https://history.army.mil/books/Sw-SA/SWSA-Fm.htm
D 114.2: SE 6/2: The Sergeants Major of the Army. (1995) Department of Defense. Department of the Army. Center of Military History.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015034397391&view=1up&seq=3
D 201.2: T 41: United States Ship Thresher (SSN 593): In Memoriam, April 10, 1963. Department of Defense. Department of the Navy. United States Atlantic Fleet. Submarine Force.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015004040229&view=1up&seq=5
D 101.1/5: 983: U.S. Army Armament Materiel Readiness Command/U.S. Army Armament, Munitions and Chemical Command Annual Historical Review. Department of Defense. U.S. Army Armament, Munitions and Chemical Command. Historical Office.
W 1.1: War Department Annual Reports. War Department.

D 208.107: Annual Register of the United States Naval Academy. Department of Defense. United States Naval Academy.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000500848
D 305.8: Catalog of the United States Air Force Academy. Department of Defense. Department of the Air Force.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/011418755
D 109.8: Catalog of the United States Military Academy. Department of Defense. United States Military Academy.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/102475794
D 5.414: National Defense University Catalogue. Department of Defense. National Defense University. Industrial College of the Armed Forces. National War College. Armed Forces Staff College.
D 109.7: Official Register of the Officers and Cadets, United States Military Academy. Department of Defense. Department of the Army. United States Military Academy.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/005881801
D 109.8: United States Military Academy, West Point, New York: Catalog of Information. War Department. United States Military Academy.
TD 5.16/2: The U.S. Coast Guard Academy Bulletin of Information. Department of Transportation. United States Coast Guard Academy.

Registers, Directories, and Annual Reviews and Reports

J 1.1: Annual Report of the Attorney-General of the United States. Department of Justice.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000521490
T 24.1: Annual Report of the United States Life-Saving Service. Department of the Treasury. Office of Life-Saving Service.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008892163
NAS 1.74: 011 C(JSC): Astronaut Fact Book. (1992) 47p. National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015032712179&view=1up&seq=3
S 1.69: The Biographic Register. Department of State. Office of Operations. Publishing and Reproduction Services Division.
S 1.6: Biographic Register of the Department of State. Department of State.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100719499
S 1.8: Diplomatic List. Department of State. Office of the Chief of Protocol.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000073383
C 13.69/3: Directory of DOC Staff Memberships on Outside Standards Committees. Department of Commerce. National Bureau of Standards. Office of Product Standards Policy.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/011400531

ED 1.111/3: Education Directory: State Education Agency Officials. Department of Education. Office of Research and Improvement. National Center for Education Statistics.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/006172414
FS 5.25: Education Directory: Higher Education. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. Office of Education.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/007888645
J 1.14/2: N 21 A/: FBI National Academy Directory of Graduates. Department of Justice. Federal Bureau of Investigation.
LC 1.40: Library of Congress Telephone Directory. Library of Congress.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/003129456
S 1.69/2: Foreign Consular Offices in the United States. Department of State. Office of Protocol.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/102186019
S 1.7: Foreign Service List. Department of State. Office of Special Services. Division of Publishing Services.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/011325733
Y 4.P 93/1:1: Official Congressional Directory. Congress. Joint Committee on Printing.
- https://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/LPS194
C 3.10: 907/vol.1: Official Register of the United States 1907: Vol. I, Directory. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=coo.31924112812528&view=1up&seq=750
C 3.10: 907/vol.2: Official Register of the United States 1907: Vol. II: The Postal Service. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=coo.31924112812775&view=1up&seq=9
C 3.10: 911/vol.1: Official Register of the United States 1911: Vol. I, Directory. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=coo.31924112812791&view=1up&seq=886
C 3.10: 911/vol.2: Official Register of the United States 1911: Vol. II: The Postal Service. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=coo.31924112812544&view=1up&seq=7
C 3.10: 919/vol.1: Official Register of the United States 1919: Directory. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census.
S 1.2: Of 2/1778-1990: Principal Officers of the Department of State and United States Chiefs of Mission 1778 – 1990. (1991) 219p. Department of State. Office of the Historian. Bureau of Public Affairs.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=osu.32435053884516&view=1up&seq=7
I 1.28: 893: Register of the Department of Interior, Containing a List of Persons Employed in the Department Appointed by the President of by the Secretary of the Interior. (1901). Department of the Interior
S 1.6: Register of the Department of State. Department of State. Office of the Historical Advisor.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100197594
J 1.7: Register of the U.S. Department of Justice and the Federal Courts. Department of Justice.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/101805483
S 1.21: United States Department of State Telephone Directory. Department of State. Bureau of Administration. Office of Facilities Management and Administrative Services.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100717024

Periodicals

D 207.17: All Hands: The Bureau of Naval Personnel Information Bulletin. Department of the Navy. Bureau of Naval Personnel.
- https://allhands.navy.mil/Media/Archives/
D 211.8: Bureau of Ships Journal. Department of Defense. Department of the Navy. Bureau of Ships.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008338644
D 110.7: Military Review: The Professional Journal of the US Army. Department of Defense. Department of the Army. U.S. Army Command and General Staff College.
- https://www.armyupress.army.mil/Military-Review/
D 301.56/7: The Mobility Forum: Air Mobility Command’s Magazine. Department of Defense. Air Mobility Command. Director of Safety.
- https://themobilityforum.net/magazine/
D 207.19/2: The Navy Chaplain. Department of Defense. Department of the Navy. Office of the Chief of Naval Operations.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/011411529
D 214.10: The Reserve Marine. Department of Defense. Department of the Navy. U.S. Marine Corps.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/101804433
D 214.24: Marines Magazine. Department of Defense. Department of the Navy. U.S. Marine Corps. Division of Public Affairs, Media Branch, HQMC.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008603606
D 209.7: U.S. Navy Civil Engineer Corps Bulletin. Department of Defense. Department of the Navy. Bureau of Yards and Docks.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/002138568

Miscellaneous

LC 1.12/2: Af 8/4: Generations Past: A Selected List of Sources for Afro-American Genealogical Research. (1988) 101p. Library of Congress. General Reading Rooms Division. Sandra M. Lawson.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/002059621
LC 1.6/4: Im 6: Immigrant Arrivals: A Guide to Published Sources. (1988) 13p. Library of Congress. General Reading Rooms Division. Local History and Genealogy Reading Room. Virginia Steele Wood.
LC 1.34: Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789. (1982) Library of Congress. Paul H. Smith.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uva.x005069163&view=1up&seq=3
LC 5.2: L 22: Land Ownership Maps: A Checklist of Nineteenth Century United States County Maps in the Library of Congress. (1967) 86p. Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division. Richard W. Stephenson.
LC 1.6/5: 15: Sources for Research in English Genealogy. (1989) 11p. Library of Congress. General Reading Rooms Division. Local History and Genealogy Reading Room. Judith P. Reid.
LC 1.6/5: 17: Sources for Research in Scottish Genealogy. (1992) 10p. Library of Congress. Humanities and Social Sciences Division. Local History and Genealogy Reading Room. Judith P. Reid.
GS 4.7: 13/3: Special List 13: Cartographic Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. (1977) 187p. General Services Administration. National Archives and Records Service. The National Archives. Laura E. Kelsay.
- https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uiug.30112046989916&view=1up&seq=3
GS 4.7: 40: Special List 40: Selected Documents Pertaining to Black Workers Among the Records of the Department of Labor and Its Component Bureaus. 1902-1969. (1977) 55p. General Services Administration. National Archives and Records Service. The National Archives. Debra L. Newman.
LC 1.2: W 84: Women Came to the Front: Journalists, Photographers and Broadcasters During World War II. (1995) 23p. Library of Congress.
- https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/003031290