Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Arizona Genealogy Resources

An overview of the physical and digital genealogy resources from the State of Arizona Research Library and the Arizona State Archives.

Intro to Arizona Genealogy

The State of Arizona Research Library and the Arizona State Archives' collections contain materials that may benefit genealogy researchers. Explore this guide to learn of the variety of genealogical resources.

Please note, the Research Library and Archives' collections often complement each other. For example, the Library collects published maps, the Archives collects unpublished maps; the Library collects published brand books, the Archives collects the brand applications. Please plan to explore all of our resources and submit a question if you'd like staff to provide additional direction on which resources might be helpful to your research.

Making an appointment

Our Reading Room is open by appointment only Monday - Friday (except State holidays) in the morning (8:30 am - Noon) and afternoon (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm). Please submit your appointment request here and include details on which materials you wish to access. Staff will confirm the availability of materials, follow up if they need additional information, and confirm a date and time for your appointment.

Arizona Genealogy Day

The Arizona State Library, Archives, and Public Records partners with the Arizona Genealogical Advisory Board to offer an annual Arizona Genealogy Day. View the State of Arizona Research Library YouTube channel's genealogy playlist to view available recordings from Arizona Genealogy Day, as well as presentations from State of Arizona Research Library Staff on topics of genealogical interest.