Resources
Arizona Geological Survey Map & Database Services
Resources are categorized into Map Services, Database Services, Geologic Story Maps, and Other.
Map Services include:
Database Services include:
See also Arizona Geological Survey under the State Resources tab.
Resources
"We are a diversified mining association that is the unified voice of responsible, sustainable and safe mining in Arizona. We support educational programs that demonstrate the importance and benefits of mining to the economy and the quality of life. Our members benefit from productive relationships and alliances with government, business associations and natural resource industry groups. Through our advocacy, we help Arizona be the premier location for mining investment in the US."
Resources
Arizona Mining, Mineral and Natural Resources Education
"The Arizona Mining, Mineral and Natural Resources Education (AMMNRE) Museum was recently established to promote Arizona’s natural resource heritage and future through education, research and outreach. The museum is in the development and renovation stage and is not currently open. Our end-state vision is to create a recognized destination for life-long experiential learning, showcasing current knowledge, cutting-edge research and innovation in the mining, mineral, timber, livestock and agricultural industries. The vision will also include the transformation of a dormant 1921 building into interactive galleries, idea labs, maker spaces, offices and public engagement spaces."
"The AMMNRE mineral collection, formerly the Arizona Mining and Mineral Museum collection, is comprised of over 20,000 rocks, minerals, and mining artifacts from Arizona and around the world. Specimens from the collection are on display at institutions around the state, including the UA Gem and Mineral Museum in Tucson, Bullion Plaza Cultural Center & Museum in Miami, and the Arizona Capitol Museum here in Phoenix."
Resources
Alfie Norville Gem & Mineral Museum
"The Alfie Norville Gem & Mineral Museum is dedicated to providing public education, the preservation of minerals and meteorites while also serving the research needs of professionals, students and collectors. The collection is world-wide in scope, but with specific emphasis on minerals from Arizona and Mexico."
Resources
Bullion Plaza Cultural Center & Museum
"The Bullion Plaza Cultural Center & Museum is dedicated to preserving and presenting the culturally diverse history, the human experience, as well as exploring the natural environment unique to the Globe-Miami region of Arizona.
The Center-Museum achieves its mission through exhibits, education programs, collections, publications and outreach programs that are designed to serve, engage and enrich individuals and the community."
Resources
Bisbee Mining & Historical Museum
"With a history deserving of National Landmark status, it’s only fitting that Bisbee’s past be captured and reflected in a museum like no other. The Bisbee Mining & Historical Museum takes you and your family back in time to the days of the Arizona Territory, telling the story of a copper-mining town’s role in the industrialization of America, a history of your grandparents’ generation. An Affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, the Museum offers an interactive trip back in time for the whole family. The American Industrial revolution not fun to learn about? Think again! Why copper? Find out! The Museum offers the stories of how people reacted to family and social issues through the last 125 years and how their responses helped shape the city, the state, and the nation."
Resources
Jerome State Historic Park, Douglas Mansion
"James S. Douglas built the Mansion on the hill just above his Little Daisy Mine in 1916. Douglas designed the house as a hotel for mining officials and investors as well as for his own family ....
He also built the Little Daisy Hotel near the mine as a dormitory for the miners. The concrete structure still stands.
This former home is now a museum devoted to history of the Jerome area and the Douglas family. The museum features historical exhibits of photographs, artifacts, and minerals in addition to a video presentation and a 3-D model of the town with its underground mines. One room, the Douglas library, is restored as a period room. There are more displays outside along with a picnic area offering a beautiful panoramic view of the Verde Valley."
Resources
Jerome Historical Society Mine Museum
"With displays depicting the timeline of Jerome’s past to its present, items such as old miners equipment to remains of gambling in saloons can be seen within the Museum... Artifacts include but are not limited to: the Colt pistol Marshal Johnny Hudgens used to gun down three vigilantes on Main Street in Jerome; mining equipment such as drills, cages, carbide lamps, hand forged miners candlesticks, underground “potty cars”, and ore carts; an original Jerome Chinese laundry machine; numerous panoramic photos of Jerome miners and the smelters; household goods such as Jerome milk bottles, dishes, tokens, club memberships and medallions, newspapers; hospital equipment; gambling paraphernalia; and much, much more."
Resources
"Castle Dome Museum is a non-profit museum/ghost town dedicated to the preservation and restoration of Castle Dome City. Castle Dome city sits on a location changed little by time allowing people to visit a true time capsule of old west history.
There are about 300 mines in the Castle Dome Mining district. The ore is in a fault zone and has been mined to the depth of 700 ft. The ore is in a highly mineralized zone, with about 30 minerals having been identified in the mines. Many of the artifacts in the museum have come from underground. including the 1889 Levis, miners clothing, powder boxes, drill steel, dynamite spoons, tamping rods, candle holders, notes, canned goods, tools, ore cars, ore buckets and old bottles (bottles dating from 1874)."